Reviews and Testimonials

July 21, 2021

I’ve personally tested AquaEye in all kinds of water. It has few limitations. Bottom line is it works great! The time, money, and liability this saves FAR outweighs the surprisingly small price tag! I’ve been diving since 1986 and a PSD since 2005.

Scott Johanson

Public Safety Diver

May 25, 2021

AquaEye is a water rescue tool that I hope all lifeguards have in their tool kit. AquaEye can scan a swim area in minutes -finding a person under water much faster than traditional search patterns.

We are supporters of AquaEye and have seen the device in action. We are confident that lifeguards would find rescue targets much faster with AquaEye, helping to keep campers and lifeguards safe.

Eric Shendelman

Owner, Shendy's Swim School, Past President of Ontario Camps Association, Representative of Canadian Drowning Prevention Coalition

April 6, 2021

Oceanside Fire Department Lifeguard Division has implemented AquaEye into Code X operations for its speed of identifying submerged persons in open water response areas.  While prevention remains the primary objective in lifesaving, the necessity of swiftly locating a submerged victim for an increased chance of survival is needed. The application of AquaEye into Code X operations can provide a scanned search area and high potential targets by a single rescuer prior to coordinating and initiating multiple rescuer line searches that must systematically clear the search area.  The ability to focus a general search area to a concise position can significantly decrease discovery time of a victim thereby preventing the need to exhaust rescuers and resources.

Blake Faumina

Lieutenant, Oceanside Fire Department, Lifeguard Division

February 14, 2021

It’s much faster than trying to do a boat rescue that we’ve done in the past. It [was] just long boat searches without any knowledge of where the subject is. AquaEye actually gives us the coordinates of where that person might be.

Brad Kiggins

Vernon Search and Rescue

December 8, 2020

The team scanned the swim course with AquaEye prior to the event to identify any pre-existing targets in the event we lost a swimmer during the race. Having AquaEye on site definitely gave me peace of mind in the off chance we had to search for a missing athlete. I knew we would find them quickly.

 

AJ Miller

Water Operations, Fetch Water Sports & Safety

July 13, 2020

I see applications for AquaEye® in recovery operations and have recommended the product to police dive teams across the country. With ease of use and ease of care, AquaEye is very user friendly and requires little training.

Jay White

Instructor/Trainer, RCMP National Underwater Recovery Training Centre

June 7, 2019

In 2008 we lost my oldest son to a drowning / boat accident. It took 29 days to recover his body. In 2009 we started The BMF Project to honor our son and to try to ensure no other family had to go through what we did, especially because of lack of equipment. The BMF Project is excited at the possibilities presented by the AquaEye®.

The ease of deployment and use makes it ideal for open water swimming areas. We have trained with the AquaEye with multiple police, fire, and SAR agencies in North Texas, the opportunities to use it in a rescue versus a recovery have become apparent. We have even used it in a recovery situation in which we were able to help bring closure to a family in a matter of minutes. In our opinion, the AquaEye will not only help many families but also keep those willing to sacrifice themselves to help bring our loved one’s home, safer.

Mike Fugate

Founder, The BMF Project

July 2, 2021

In addition to our current drowning prevention operating guidelines, we now have lifeguards perform AquaEye scans at the start and end of all swimming activities to confirm all are accounted for and safely out of the water.

Rachel Morgan

Summer Director, Camp Farwell

April 19, 2021

AquaEye is absolutely amazing! I’ve taken it to a few spots where we have had rescues and recoveries. One particular location we spent almost two hours searching on a previous recovery and with AquaEye I was able to locate in the matter of minutes.

Devin Redding

Dive Team, Heber Springs Fire Department

March 24, 2021

AquaEye is an entirely new tool in the drowning search toolbox. It allows large areas to be scanned quickly and effectively, even at night or in murky/tannin coloured water, where other means of searching will be ineffective. Due to it’s built-in AI software, it allows anyone with little to no experience in analyzing sonar imagery to still be highly effective at searching.

Ephraim Nowak

Central Okanagan Search and Rescue (COSAR)

February 14, 2021

Before we would use a type of sonar, almost like a fish finder sonar, and it’s not as accurate and it takes a long time to search an area. AquaEye allows us to get to an area where we think a victim is and narrow down that search area really very rapidly.

Trevor Honigman

Search Manager, Vernon Search and Rescue

December 12, 2020

We were conducting a search for a missing person underneath the ice in Saskatchewan, and AquaEye was an extremely valuable tool. After drilling a hole we were able to scan the lake underneath the ice and determine areas of interest. AquaEye indicates the direction and distance, so we were able to move to the spot it indicated, drill another hole and the object of interest was right there. AquaEye was extremely accurate. This enabled us to search large areas in a short amount of time.

Brendan Miller

October 15, 2020

We purchased AquaEye® and it did just as it said it would do. When we went out and tested it, we then knew where our people were, where our divers in the water were, and we even had a dummy in the water. Everything registered with an X, meaning that it should be a human, and of course it was. We didn’t just do that once; we have been out multiple times with our fire department and then last Saturday AquaEye was part of an inter-agency water rescue exercise. We had 9 agencies and 45 people involved with 9 watercraft. AquaEye worked as advertised and as it should. We are very impressed, but not looking forward to the day we must use it for real. When that does happen we are very comfortable that we should be able to locate someone fairly quickly.

Kevin Swanson

Fire Chief, Brooks Fire Department

July 3, 2020

AquaEye® was able to quickly locate the victim in what was a difficult search environment. It brought closure to a family much sooner than traditional methods of recovery, and by shortening the search timeline, the device also reduced the time that rescuers were in the danger zone of the pier pylons.

Mirek Dabrowski

Director, Duck Surf Rescue

Happy VodaSafe customers and AquaEye users around North America:

Click here to opt-out of Google Analytics