Reviews & Testimonials

See what rescue and recovery professionals are saying about AquaEye®

November 3, 2021

I believe AquaEye is a tool that fills a gap in the existing technologies of underwater searches, that allows us to be more effective and also quicker at conducting underwater search efforts. 

COSAR

Ephraim Nowak

Central Okanagan Search and Rescue (COSAR)

October 27, 2021

Boonville

Steven Byers

Fire Chief, Public Safety Diver, Boonville Indiana Fire Department

October 7th, 2021

Camp Robin Hood

Andrea Van Horn

Waterfront Director, Camp Robin Hood

August 31st, 2021

In our local dive facility, we are looking to use AquaEye as a way to expedite the location of missing divers that could have dive injuries. By doing that we will deploy rescue divers to go down, and hopefully this turns into a response where we can save the diver versus a recovery. With the cold water, we have a timeframe where we could possibly save them.

Marshall County

Kenny Pratt

Assitant Chief/Rescue Squad Diver, Marshall County Rescue Squad

August 18th, 2021

Lyon County

Randy Wright

Emergency Manager, Lyon County, KY

July 27, 2021

We purchased AquaEye because we have a 25,000 acre lake, which is inhabited by a lot of visitors in the summertime. AquaEye aids us in helping to search a large body of water and narrows down our search area, which helps us reduce manpower used, helps overhead costs, plus it uses the latest technology.

Lyon County

Randy Wright

Emergency Manager and Dive Team Manager, Lyon County, Kentucky

July 21, 2021

I’ve personally tested AquaEye in all kinds of water. It has few limitations. Bottom line is it works great! The time, money, and liability this saves FAR outweighs the surprisingly small price tag! I’ve been diving since 1986 and a PSD since 2005.

Scott Johanson

Public Safety Diver

June 30th, 2021

This is the perfect tool where lifeguards need to act quickly to recover missing swimmers, or dive teams that need to locate a victim within that golden hour and there is a fairly decent Point Last Seen. This tool does not replace side scan sonar but can allow you to narrow your search time dramatically by ruling out areas. I can think of at least a dozen searches this would have brought us directly to the victim in minutes. 

Gerry Boylan

Public Safety Diver

May 25, 2021

AquaEye is a water rescue tool that I hope all lifeguards have in their tool kit. AquaEye can scan a swim area in minutes -finding a person under water much faster than traditional search patterns.

We are supporters of AquaEye and have seen the device in action. We are confident that lifeguards would find rescue targets much faster with AquaEye, helping to keep campers and lifeguards safe.

Shendys 150x84 1

Eric Shendelman

Owner, Shendy's Swim School, Past President of Ontario Camps Association, Representative of Canadian Drowning Prevention Coalition

April 6, 2021

Oceanside Fire Department Lifeguard Division has implemented AquaEye into Code X operations for its speed of identifying submerged persons in open water response areas.  While prevention remains the primary objective in lifesaving, the necessity of swiftly locating a submerged victim for an increased chance of survival is needed. The application of AquaEye into Code X operations can provide a scanned search area and high potential targets by a single rescuer prior to coordinating and initiating multiple rescuer line searches that must systematically clear the search area.  The ability to focus a general search area to a concise position can significantly decrease discovery time of a victim thereby preventing the need to exhaust rescuers and resources.

Oceanside

Blake Faumina

Lieutenant, Oceanside Fire Department, Lifeguard Division

February 14, 2021

It’s much faster than trying to do a boat rescue that we’ve done in the past. It [was] just long boat searches without any knowledge of where the subject is. AquaEye actually gives us the coordinates of where that person might be.

Vernon

Brad Kiggins

Vernon Search and Rescue

December 8, 2020

The team scanned the swim course with AquaEye prior to the event to identify any pre-existing targets in the event we lost a swimmer during the race. Having AquaEye on site definitely gave me peace of mind in the off chance we had to search for a missing athlete. I knew we would find them quickly.

Fetch

AJ Miller

Water Operations, Fetch Water Sports & Safety

July 13, 2020

I see applications for AquaEye® in recovery operations and have recommended the product to police dive teams across the country. With ease of use and ease of care, AquaEye is very user friendly and requires little training.

RCMP

Jay White

Instructor/Trainer, RCMP National Underwater Recovery Training Centre

July 3, 2020

AquaEye® was able to quickly locate the victim in what was a difficult search environment. It brought closure to a family much sooner than traditional methods of recovery, and by shortening the search timeline, the device also reduced the time that rescuers were in the danger zone of the pier pylons.

Duck Surf

Mirek Dabrowski

Director, Duck Surf Rescue

November 3, 2021

AquaEye is a very important tool in our toolbox because we always look to maximize responder safety. Having a tool that we deploy from our flat water rescue boat or from kayaks while keeping our operators safe, and also allowing them to search large areas quickly and effectively; these are all benefits that AquaEye brings to our team. 

COSAR

Ephraim Nowak

Central Okanagan Search and Rescue (COSAR)

October 22, 2021

 The device was quick to indicate the direction and distance of the divers under water, marking an X on the screen which was easily interpreted for the recovery location. Additionally, the echo map function provides a true sonar image reading with colors indicating obstacles and target shapes. Both functions have a purpose, and they add to the versatility of the tool.

Two weeks following the demo, we had a missing boater response at the Redondo Horseshoe Pier.  The search was precautionary for a low probability target, and the AquaEye was used to rule out a search area assigned to our team.  Our operator deployed by jumping off of the pier and then we lowered the AquaEye to him for the search.

County of LA FD

 

Cosmo Flynn

Captain Ocean Lifeguard, Marine Technical Search Team Manager, Los Angeles County Fire Department

October 4, 2021

I would highly recommend AquaEye for Public Safety Diving. It’s a device that we can quickly deploy that greatly increases the safety of our personnel. Ultimately our goal is to provide closure to the family of any victim that’s in the water and this is a tool that will help do that. Through the use of the Echo Map we’ve been locating vehicles underwater where traditional side scan sonar cannot be used, this is the tool that will do that, and so far we’ve had great success with AquaEye and I highly recommend it.

Boonville

Steven Byers

Fire Chief, Public Safety Diver, Boonville Indiana Fire Department

August 31st, 2021

I’ve used it on two separate drownings, and both times it’s been able to pick up the person we are looking for. Clearly distinguishing the X for the body, which allows us to quickly locate the victim and bring them up. 

Marshall County

Kenny Pratt

Assitant Chief/Rescue Squad Diver, Marshall County Rescue Squad

August 31st, 2021

PSDiver Magazine did a product review on AquaEye, combining the experience of several Public Safety Divers into one product review. Click here to access the PDF of the product review. 

PSDiver

PSDiver Magazine

August 18th, 2021

Chesterton

Eric Camel

Fire Chief, Chesterton, IN

August 18th, 2021

I would recommend AquaEye because I think it’s going to be a game changer for water rescue. I believe that AquaEye is going to allow us to do a quick scan of the area, find the victim, retrieve them and perform lifesaving measures.

Chesterton

Eric Camel

Fire Chief, Chesterton Fire Department

July 2, 2021

In addition to our current drowning prevention operating guidelines, we now have lifeguards perform AquaEye scans at the start and end of all swimming activities to confirm all are accounted for and safely out of the water.

Farwell

Rachel Morgan

Summer Director, Camp Farwell

April 19, 2021

AquaEye is absolutely amazing! I’ve taken it to a few spots where we have had rescues and recoveries. One particular location we spent almost two hours searching on a previous recovery and with AquaEye I was able to locate in the matter of minutes.

Heber 1

Devin Redding

Dive Team, Heber Springs Fire Department

March 24, 2021

AquaEye is an entirely new tool in the drowning search toolbox. It allows large areas to be scanned quickly and effectively, even at night or in murky/tannin coloured water, where other means of searching will be ineffective. Due to it’s built-in AI software, it allows anyone with little to no experience in analyzing sonar imagery to still be highly effective at searching.

COSAR

Ephraim Nowak

Central Okanagan Search and Rescue (COSAR)

February 14, 2021

Before we would use a type of sonar, almost like a fish finder sonar, and it’s not as accurate and it takes a long time to search an area. AquaEye allows us to get to an area where we think a victim is and narrow down that search area really very rapidly.

Vernon

Trevor Honigman

Search Manager, Vernon Search and Rescue

December 12, 2020

We were conducting a search for a missing person underneath the ice in Saskatchewan, and AquaEye was an extremely valuable tool. After drilling a hole we were able to scan the lake underneath the ice and determine areas of interest. AquaEye indicates the direction and distance, so we were able to move to the spot it indicated, drill another hole and the object of interest was right there. AquaEye was extremely accurate. This enabled us to search large areas in a short amount of time.

Brendan Miller

October 15, 2020

We purchased AquaEye® and it did just as it said it would do. When we went out and tested it, we then knew where our people were, where our divers in the water were, and we even had a dummy in the water. Everything registered with an X, meaning that it should be a human, and of course it was. We didn’t just do that once; we have been out multiple times with our fire department and then last Saturday AquaEye was part of an inter-agency water rescue exercise. We had 9 agencies and 45 people involved with 9 watercraft. AquaEye worked as advertised and as it should. We are very impressed, but not looking forward to the day we must use it for real. When that does happen we are very comfortable that we should be able to locate someone fairly quickly.

Brooks

Kevin Swanson

Fire Chief, Brooks Fire Department

June 7, 2019

In 2008 we lost my oldest son to a drowning / boat accident. It took 29 days to recover his body. In 2009 we started The BMF Project to honor our son and to try to ensure no other family had to go through what we did, especially because of lack of equipment. The BMF Project is excited at the possibilities presented by the AquaEye®.

The ease of deployment and use makes it ideal for open water swimming areas. We have trained with the AquaEye with multiple police, fire, and SAR agencies in North Texas, the opportunities to use it in a rescue versus a recovery have become apparent. We have even used it in a recovery situation in which we were able to help bring closure to a family in a matter of minutes. In our opinion, the AquaEye will not only help many families but also keep those willing to sacrifice themselves to help bring our loved one’s home, safer.

BMF

Mike Fugate

Founder, The BMF Project